Chop Bard, episode 31

This entry was posted in Shakespeare and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chop Bard, episode 31

  1. Helen says:

    Good morning :) I have been sitting on my fingers for some time now, ever since I promised to come back with my ‘review’ of GGK’s Under the Dome – a promise upon which I have so far have reneged. What I can say is that I have read it once and plan upon reading it a second time so that I am able to form a coherent opinion.

    What spurred me to comment today is that you appear to have found my son’s alter ego in Calvin :) His Hobbes was a teddy but the escapades bear amazing similarities – or so I tell him all these years later.

    The Bard has always eluded me, however I have thoroughly enjoyed your insight on other authors and because of that have read these latest. In fact, with the exception of Will, I find that the greater part of what you write, I might have written had I the talent and expertise.

    thank you for the blogs ……. I learn a little and laugh a little each time

    and Adam Shankman is adored from afar :)

  2. stewartry says:

    Thank you so much! I’m so glad you came back. That is lovely of you to say – and lovely to hear! I was coherent talking about GGK? I’m surprised! :D

    Calvin and Hobbes rool. And so does Mr. Blue Steel, Adam Shankman.

    As to that Bard … One thing Chop Bard talks about, and which is quite true, is that Shakespeare wasn’t really an author – he was, first and foremost, a playwright; the plays weren’t intended to be printed and read, and so generations of people have been sent screaming away into the night as their high school teachers try to force-feed them this stuff. :) Someday, if you have a couple of hours to kill, I have to recommend Ken Branagh’s Much Ado About Nothing. Don’t worry about the language, but watch for Branagh and the wondrous Emma Thompson and the story and the setting (and the horses, or maybe that was just me), and see if you like it. I’m addicted to it, so I feel like a pusher!

    Thank you again! I’m enjoying your explorations into your family’s history – you may yet inspire me to start researching my father’s side of the family.

Leave a Reply

