Chilli Pipers Redux!

I hate pledge drives.  But that’s when CPTV puts the Red Hot Chilli Pipers on!  They’re not stupid – they had a huge response last summer, so they’re taking advantage of the addiction they helped foster.   That’s nefarious. 

Sadly, this time I don’t have the cash to pledge for tickets to – wait for it – the return of the Chillis to Connecticut! March 19 at the Warner Theatre in Torrington… I can only hope there are seats left after payday (and not the next one, she added, thinking of the side mirror dangling from the driver’s door of her car).  If they come back to Connecticut and I can’t go, I … will be very sad. 

In the meantime, BLAST Live was on this afternoon, and faith it’s on again now, and for the rest of the evening.  (Oh – they also taped the pledge break chatter, and are airing that again.  Well, that’s what the mute button is for.)  “Clocks”!! I love “Clocks”.  I said it before, I’ll say it again – when they play the mundane version on the radio, I miss the pipes.  I’ll take the bagrock cover any day. 

Stuart says “The man who puts the ‘rock’ in bagrock is – – G-man!”  Yes.  He did.  (Though I have to admit a real preference for the Firestarter whose last name I need lessons in pronouncing, who was truly great in Hartford last September.)  But every man on that stage rocks, by at least two definitions.  It’s a good thing I wasn’t watching this afternoon with anyone less patient than my mother, or the constant giddy repetitions of “I do love these guys” would have gotten me thrown out into the snow.

But I do love these guys. Here’s hoping for March.

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chilli Pipers Redux!

  1. T, I’ll match your giddiness note for note! We do have to give credit for CPTV in taking the “Chilli’s” to a new level of awareness here in the land of steady habits. Coming to New England for St. Patrick’s Day Week is an extra special treat! The Red Hot Chilli Pipers are the ultimate in entertainment and well worth the ticket price! Hope to see you there! Cheers ~Gail aka “Chilli Momma”

  2. stewartry says:

    I have all fingers crossed – hope to see you there too!

Leave a Reply

