Breaking News

Heh. 

The group on Facebook “Keep Geoff Fox on Channel 8” is up to 9,356 people – over a hundred more since yesterday, I believe.  The plan was to “unlike” WTNH at six p.m. tonight, re-liking at the same time tomorrow if people so choose.  I can’t help out on this one; I only “liked” WTNH long enough to leave a post when I thought they were bringing someone back on the air who had been let go – I “unliked” right after I received a response.  Good luck to ’em. 

I posted a link to my post yesterday, and had a cute little uptick in views – and one comment.  You’re not going to see that comment on the blog, though, not because the person who chose to leave it didn’t agree with me (and almost 10,000 other people), or even because he went nastier about 8’s on-air personalities than I choose to – but because he also chose to express some appalling anti-Semitism.  Unbelievable. 

He (I’m assuming maleness from the name) (not masculinity, just maleness) thought it was amusing that people are threatening to stop watching, and also thought it was amusing that anyone would think 10,000 viewers’ opinions would make WTNH change its mind.  That may be so… But I doubt it.  For every one who joined the Facebook page, I would hazard a guess that there’s at least one person who feels the same way and either doesn’t know about the page, or doesn’t go online.  For example, my sister’s out of town; she’d be on there if she knew about it.  Also, consider these numbers: 9,356 on Keep Geoff; 13,488 “like” WTNH.  That’s … powerful. 

I will be very curious to see how this all plays out. 

Geoff Fox’s blog: His Permanent Record – if nothing else, I hope all of this gives him a warm & fuzzy feeling. 

This entry was posted in OT and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breaking News

  1. accountantgrrl says:

    I know all of us at Stitch n’ Bitch are going to miss him coming in. He and Anne Nyberg always made a point to come over and say hi to us. All of the babies hated him, though. :-)

    I didn’t realize that he was on vacation. I thought that he flipped them the bird when they informed him that his contract was not being renewed. I wondered why he disappeared after I heard that news.

Leave a Reply

