Remembering – Darrell K. Sweet, 1934-2011

From the time I first started reading on my own, it has seemed like eighty percent of the books I read had covers by Michael Whelan, Keith Parkinson, a small handful of others – and Darrell K. Sweet.  I counted – there are over 50 books on my shelves boasting covers by DKS (see below).  Hopefully I’m not wrong on any of these: I didn’t double-check myself.  But I don’t think so – DKS is distinctive.  No one else’s work looks like his, and his people are clearly his.  His work was always bright, vivid – not the deepest or most profound art in the world – but the energy and life in these paintings suit many of the books they grace: Excitement!  Danger!  Magic!  You have a pretty good idea what you’re getting in a DKS-covered book.

He passed away on Monday, at the age of 77, without completing the cover for the final Wheel of Time novel.  I hope someone does the same service for that painting as Brandon Sanderson has for <i>A Memory of Light</i> – it would be sad to have a WoT book without Darrell K. Sweet, and it would be so appropriate in so many ways.

Rest in peace with thanks, sir.

This entry was posted in art, memorial and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

