Paul’s my favorite

He always was.  I adore Ringo, especially after seeing his All-Starrs a couple of times, but “the cute one” was always my crush. Today, 48 years after The Beatles’ first appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show, Paul (sorry, Sir Paul) finally got his star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. I don’t know where the heck his fan clubs have been all this time, but hey, better late and all that. It’s icing on the cake.

It was forty(-eight) years ago today…

And I can’t resist commenting on Brad Paisley’s comments about the name of Sir Paul’s new album. Now, okay, “Kisses on the Bottom” is a ridiculous name. If there’s anyone whose mind doesn’t go there right away, I’d like to meet them. But it comes, for the record (so to speak), from the song ‘I’m Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter’, which is the first song on the album.

I’m gonna sit right down and write myself a letter
And make believe it came from you.
I’m gonna write words, oh, so sweet,
They’re gonna knock me off my feet.
A lotta kisses on the bottom — I’ll be glad I’ve got ’em.
I’m gonna smile and say, “I hope you’re feelin’ better,”
And close “with love” the way you do;
I’m gonna sit right down and write myself a letter,
And make believe it came from you.

I have, I believe, four things to say to, as I saw him mentioned somewhere, “celebrity” singer (sic) Brad Paisley:

1) Who, exactly, are you to mock a Beatle? I couldn’t name a single one of your songs under torture. It would, in fact, be torture for me to be forced to listen to your stuff. If anyone still knows who you are in 50 years, then maybe you can open your mouth. Until then, put a sock in it.

2) I bought it. It makes absolutely no difference what it’s called, it’s Paul. Singing standards. ‘Nuff said.

3) I looked up your album titles, BP. Let’s see the brilliance you’ve committed…
1999: Who Needs Pictures – See? Brilliant.
2001: Part II – inspired.
2003: Mud on the Tires – eh.
2005: Time Well Wasted – I doubt it.
2006: Brad Paisley Christmas – oh, now, that’s poetry. Hand me my vial of salts, I may swoon.
2007: 5th Gear – eh.
2008: Play – no, Eject.
2009: American Saturday Night – eh.
2011: This Is Country Music – Thank you for the warning.
Compilation – 2010: Hits Alive – as opposed to -? Hits Deceased? Or – wait, I know: it’s a play on the famous line from Frankenstein, and there’s a picture of Boris Karloff and a lightning bolt on the cover? That’s awesome.

4) Buddy, your name is Paisley. You have NO room to talk.

Gnat.

This entry was posted in music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Paul’s my favorite

  1. Ummmm…I know who Brad Paisley is and he’s big in country music. I actually like his music a lot.

    Not sure why he made the comment that he did but I find that soundbites always seem to be taken out of context. I don’t think Brad is that bad.

  2. stewartry says:

    No offense! (Except maybe to Brad Paisley…) I loathe country music only slightly less than I hate rap – very slightly – and I guess I’ve been really successful blocking out the whole genre. I’ve heard of him, but like I said couldn’t name a single song of his, and couldn’t pick him out of a country music lineup. I just think it was tacky, stupid, and pointless for him to weigh in on something that was no concern of his. (Which I guess you could also say about this blog post! :P)

    I don’t think it was taken out of context; unfortunately from what I saw he went off on Twitter, and was at it for quite a while: not just one comment, but an endless stream.

  3. You know me better than that

  4. …I’m not offended in the least. I think that social media has made it easier to stick one’s foot in one’s mouth. ;-)

    He was a completely idiot for saying that. I thought there might be some redemption for him but if he was squawking over on Twitter, well then he deserves your comtempt. ;-)

Leave a Reply

