Game of Thrones – pregame post

I have been waiting, with variable patience, for Game of Thrones to come out on DVD.  It did, and I bought it (could have gotten it for $5 less on Amazon, but I would be lucky to have it next weekend), and … here we go.  I haven’t read the book in a good couple of years, so there will be a lot that will feel new (my memory being what it is) – but I remember Sean Bean’s fate.  (A couple of years ago my reaction was “Sean Bean is in it! Fantastic!  He’s playing who?  Oh, damn. Not again.” See also “Death by Cow, the List”)

Also from the beginning I was happy about Mark Addy (also Oh damn), and especially Peter Dinklage (I wanted Martin Freeman for Bilbo and Peter Dinklage for Tyrion.  I’m worried about what I’m going to have to pay for this…), and also Harry Lloyd (aka Will Scarlet in the BBC Robin Hood) and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (from, very briefly, “New Amsterdam”, a show that died too young).  But Sean Bean wins the field for me.

I have gritted my teeth and refused to subscribe to HBO (because you know you can never just add HBO, it’s going to be a package and absurd amounts per month, and well.) – partly hoping for really good special features on the DVD’s.  Looks like there’s some on there – we’ll see. I am going to hit “Publish post” and then hit play.  I’ll be back.

Yes, I’m going to say it –

Winter is coming…

Image

This entry was posted in OT. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Game of Thrones – pregame post

  1. tmso says:

    I’m waiting for them on netflix. It is taking forever! Maybe I’ll buy ’em too.

Leave a Reply

