Wilde’s Fire – Krystal Wade

Wilde's FireWilde’s Fire by Krystal Wade

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Pretty sure this (from Netgalley) is a DNF. I feel I should give it another shot, but I’m not optimistic. I’ve learned not to immediately recoil when a book is in the present tense, but four extraordinary books (The Help and The Hunger Games Trilogy) don’t make it less than gimmicky when not done well. Also, not done well = amateurish, unfortunately. Everyone in this book has already annoyed me deeply (if you have something to say, just say it, I beg you), and main character Kate worst of all.

“I have something I need to tell you!”
Interruption.
“Later.”
Kate shrugs.
Repeat ad nauseam.

And – seriously? This driving-aged girl’s mother allows a boy to sleep overnight in her bed? I don’t care how many degrees of Best Friend he is – I had to read that three times before I believed it.

Yeah, you know what … I have a few dozen other Netgalley books I need to get to. DNF it is.

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in books, Children's/YA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wilde’s Fire – Krystal Wade

  1. Helen says:

    Nothing to do with this particular book, but writing style plays a huge part in my enjoyment of a story. My current bugbear is Wolf Hall, the much touted work of Hilary Mantel (it was even recommended by CJ Sansom).. The only description I can find for the style is “choppy” and (too) liberal use of the semi-colon.

    ie

    “Yes, he says, vigorously nodding, making his nose drop gouts of blood; yes, he indicates himself, as if to say, Walter was here. Kat calls for a basin, for water, for water in a basin, for a cloth, for the devil to rise up, right now, and take away Walter his servant ” … etc etc etc the punctuation is the real thing.

    I have picked it up and put it down several times …. sigh :(

  2. stewartry says:

    I started to start Wolf Hall a couple of years ago – bought it in hardcover, was very excited … and … bleh: present tense. And I’ve heard that it’s choppy, too. (Almost used a semi-colon there! I know I use them too often, and try to edit them out. Usually.) A couple of people I usually agree with on Goodreads absolutely loved it – but I don’t know. I’ll give it a shot again soon.

  3. Helen says:

    Can the use of semi-colons and ‘choppiness’ be attributed to “social media” posting? I have found myself dropping pronouns and using hyphens when writing a letter. As for Wolf Hall, I think I said in my Goodreads review that I might pick it up again on a cold winter’s day when I am out of books and the weather doesn’t allow for any easy trip to the bookstore.

  4. stewartry says:

    I’ve been a semi-colon-overuser forever; (:D) I don’t know why. I think you’re right – social media has resulted in shorter attention spans and incomplete thoughts and sentences. One reason, maybe, why Twitter and I don’t get along – what do you mean I’m out of characters!?

  5. Pingback: Review: Wilde’s Fire by Krystal Wade | The Peasants Revolt

  6. Pingback: Review: Wilde’s Fire by Krystal Wade » The Peasants Revolt

Leave a Reply

