Well, I’m back. I hope

This has, to put it mildly, been an interesting couple of months. As in the Chinese curse “May you live in interesting times”. A hurricane, followed a week later by a nor’easter. Then my mother had a fall, which resulted in a push-and-pull nightmare struggle with the hospital that lasted two more weeks. (It isn’t over yet, but I’m trying not to think about it, and since Mom is doing much better I can almost put it behind me.) Then we lost Daisy. Then I finally brought my car to be serviced for a coolant leak it had had for a while, and that wound up being $1000 (and 74 cents, which I just think is funny). It still needs another $300 worth of work, but it’ll have to wait a bit. Then there was the Newtown shooting. (Guy Gavriel Kay wrote an amazing piece about it, here.)Then we decided to adopt a shelter dog – a beagle (coincidentally)- Jack Russell mix, coincidentally, painfully also called Daisy (we tried to change it, but Mom keeps calling her Daisy anyway, so… ow. Oh well). (Pictures to follow soon. She’s adorable. A PITA, but adorable.) Then Daisy II turned out to a) be far from housebroken (not that we really expected her to be), and b) have kennel cough. Which meant that my brother – who has two dogs of his own, one of whom is getting old and isn’t 100% – didn’t want to take a chance on coming here for Christmas as planned. Which meant that we didn’t really have a Christmas. Maybe around New Year’s. I haven’t even wrapped anything yet.

I feel like I forgot something. Oh, right – our furnace stopped working. Knew there was something.

It’s all been a perfect set of examples of what I have long referred to as “the Stewart luck” – it sucks, but it could be worse; it’s all about a quarter of an inch short of impossible.(You know the other saying “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”? Bollocks.)

The result of all of this has been that I’ve been about a step away from zombie for about two months. It seems like every time I’ve picked my head up and started to smile again there’s been another piano falling from the sky, alternating of course with the occasional anvil. So this blog has suffered … I have managed to scrabble out a few book reviews here and there, and what I aim to do is plop them up here, scheduling a few out to give myself a breather; that’s how I managed the last batch around the time we lost Daisy.

Nearly every week (mostly on Tuesdays and Wednesdays) something dreadful has happened, either to us directly or to the state. I’m still a little afraid of what the next week will bring. I’m only hoping that 2013 will be … different. I’m not sure I even ask for significantly better right now; just … not worse. Here’s hoping. If the posts stop again you’ll know the streak of evil luck continues … :)

This entry was posted in OT and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Well, I’m back. I hope

  1. Helen says:

    Your 2012 was much like my 2011 – I am here to tell you it does get better ;)

  2. stewartry says:

    Bless you. :) I’m glad your 2012 was better than mine!

Leave a Reply

