2013 – a challenging year

forsale

Well, I’m sure it will be – though hopefully not challenging in the same way 2012 was. Challenging in a fun way.

I think I lost my mind somewhere in the tumult of the past few months. Well, no, I definitely lost my mind in there, but I thought I was still sane(ish) in the area of books. Apparently not; I’ve signed on to three challenges for 2013. Meep.

Ah, I should be fine. I actually lowered my goal for the Goodreads Reading Challenge from 160 for 2012 to 150 for 2013; I made it last year, but in looking at what it was I read I realized there were a few novellas in there. I’d rather count works over 100-odd pages, at least … We’ll see how it goes.

I just signed up for the Goodreads group Mt. TBR 2013, and committed to reading at least 36 books from my Mountain-of-BooksTBR list. Stack. Mountain. The actual rules of the challenge are that to count the book must have been in my possession as of January 1, 2013, which would actually make 99.9% of the books I own qualify – but my goal is to read that many books that I’ve had kicking around the house for two years or more, and to evaluate at least as many more to see if I honestly think I ever will read them – and if not, to Goodwill they go.

I am also going to try very hard not to buy anything new – not new-new, from Amazon or elsewhere, or new-to-me, from Goodwill or Books & Company or anyplace else – – except! I will not forgo the four sales that are still around, the two at the Orange library and the two at the Congregational Church, both usually in April and October. I’ll try to be careful there, though, and not buy more than I’ve gotten rid of.

I’m not doing New Year’s Resolutions, as such – just the above.

The third challenge will get its own post, in a bit. Meanwhile, here is one intimidatingly empty challenge list:
Mount Vancouver 2009 048_0

Mt. Vancouver
1. Murder with Peacocks (owned at least 2 yrs)
2. The Brandons (added to GR 2011)
3. The Mysterious Commission (added 2011)
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24.
25.
26.
27.
28.
29.
30.
31.
32.
33.
34.
35.
36.

I’ll fill that in as time goes by … in the meantime – *meep*

This entry was posted in books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2013 – a challenging year

  1. tmso says:

    Wow – that’s a lot of reading. I don’t think I’ve ever read that much. May the force be with you! :)

  2. stewartry says:

    Aaaand that would be why the book I’m writing is perennially unfinished. Ah well.

  3. Jane Steen says:

    150 books…do you sleep?

  4. tmso says:

    Well, I’m not saying I shouldn’t be reading that much. I do know someone who rivals your reading appetite and she writes as well. Of course, she writes for a living, but that’s besides the point. I meant, more power to ya! :)

  5. stewartry says:

    Thanks! I was just recognizing the fact that there are so many hours in a day, and subtracting work and sleep (I do sleep, Jane :D) there’s not much left … and I spend most of it reading… *not* writing. Except for book reviews, of course…

Leave a Reply

