Why? Why??

I know, I know – I’m so far behind in book reviews I’ll never catch up. Plus I haven’t written about Much Ado About Nothing or even Twelfth Night. But – Tumblr updates strike again.

The Hobbit Extended Edition is going to be released in a bit. That’s fine; the LotR Extended Editions were miles better than the theatrical editions, at least from a “real fan’s” point of view. (Yes, I’m being facetious with the “real fan”.) Thing is, from past experience I have a pretty strong suspicion that after the Extended Edition will come at least two more must-have versions of the film(s); that’s what happened with LotR. I know for a fact that some of my old friends have three or four or five versions of each movie. Because each one had new extras, or new footage, or accessories, or something of the sort, the diehards had to have all of them. So right about now my eyes are rolling a little, but only a little; on the third release I’ll really start shaking my head in disgust.

What I’m here to complain about this time, what came as close as anything in a long time to making me literally see red, is this:

“Rated PG-13 for extended sequences of intense fantasy action violence, frightening images & fleeting nudity.”

Nudity.

In The Hobbit.

Putting aside the queasiness over the drooling fangirls hoping for sexy naked dwarves – and that’s a lot to put aside – what in Hades is anyone doing unclothed in The Hobbit?!

Now, see, off the top of my head I can think of two scenes in LotR (one in Fellowship, one in RotK) in which hobbits ran about naked. But The Hobbit? No. Nuh uh.

I can’t wait to hear more about this. (<- to be read in a tone of extreme sarcasm) Is there any veneer of faithfulness about it, or is it pure fanservice?

I didn’t think I could loathe Peter Jackson more. I hate it when I’m wrong.

 

 

Edited some time later, when I bothered to look into the matter: In keeping with Jackson’s driving need to paint the Dwarves as little more than comic relief, they make themselves thoroughly (and in all the most obvious ways) crude and obnoxious in Rivendell, and then they all go bathe in a fountain. Nude dwarves seen from a distance, defiling an Elvish fountain. I. hate. Peter. Jackson.

This entry was posted in movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why? Why??

  1. Beatnik Mary says:

    I can’t even…I can’t.

    Oh, but you mentioned Twelfth Night and Much Ado About Nothing. Do you have a Shakespeare reading project that you’re behind in? *I* have a Shakespeare reading project that I’m behind in too! Why I planned to read the histories during summer vacation I’ll never know…

  2. Beatnik Mary says:

    Also I like your blog enough to make me wish I had started out with WordPress instead of Blogger. I’m loathe to change but I love how many tab options you have for easy navigation around the site. Awesome!

  3. stewartry says:

    My only project is the “all the Twelfth Nights” project I started eons ago; I saw a production last month, live, and just haven’t written about it.

    Chop Bard is doing a bunch of the histories – he’s on Henry IV Pt 2 now – they’re terrific.

Leave a Reply

