Home Cooking – Laurie Colwin

The only thing worse than reading a book and loving it and then finding out that it’s the only book a writer has produced so far … is reading a book and loving it and then finding out that the author passed away hideously young. Reading the biography at the end of the book – and I’m glad it was at the end and not the beginning – came like a bolt from the blue: never saw it coming. Suddenly all the loving stories of her daughter made me want to cry.

Such is, I’m afraid, the case with Laurie Colwin. I enjoyed these essays immensely – and yay for the ability to highlight swathes of text on my Kindle, because I now have a cookbook gleaned from these essays. Funny, poignant, resonant, and – in terms of I’m making a grocery list as I read – inspiring… I can only hope her fiction “feels” the same. (Ooh! There’s a “More Home Cooking”! Excellent.)

The usual disclaimer: I received this book via Netgalley for review. Many thanks!

This entry was posted in books, Cookbook, non-fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home Cooking – Laurie Colwin

  1. Oh, gosh. Laurie Colwin. Gone much too soon. Her writing is wonderful. I treasure my old copies of Gourmet magazine, in which her columns/articles appeared. High point of my month, each new Gourmet, way back in the day. (“Way back” being the late 1980s/early 1990s.) When I read my first Laurie Colwin article I knew at once that this was someone who really got it. And her recipes were sensible, and very, very good. Bliss. As well as the “food” writing, did you know she also wrote novels? And they are just as funny and appealing as the essays. Just not enough of them…

  2. stewartry says:

    I went and bought several of them right away on Amazon (Kindle editions at $1.99!). Once I clear up some of my Netgalley obligations – if I can manage not to take on more – they’re high up on my to-do list.

Leave a Reply

