The Imogene Museum Series – Jerusha Jones

The Imogene Museum Mystery series has been one of the biggest pleasures Netgalley has brought me. The whole series was offered, pre-approved, all at once; as I mentioned in my review of the first book, Rock Bottom, I requested only the first one because I didn’t want to be saddled with having to review all six. It only took a few chapters before I hopped back on Netgalley to get the rest before they changed their minds. Here are a few thoughts on books two through five.

And one nice thing about putting four on the same page is having these covers all together – I think they’re wonderful.

#2 – Doubled Up

And on to the second Imogene Museum Mystery received from Netgalley, which involves the theft of pre-Columbian statues that happened to be in the same shipment as some statuary for the museum grounds. I still very much enjoyed this installment, despite a deep philosophical difference: The statues are of characters by “Ernest Shepard,” Rupert said. “His illustrations for The Wind in the Willows are perhaps the best-known and most loved.” How anyone could say that when E.H. Shepard illustrated Winnie-the-Pooh I just cannot fathom, but then I still have never read The Wind in the Willows. Yet. (I know, sorry.)

But I can set aside such a grievous error in judgment, because the book as a whole is just so darned enjoyable. Meredith Morehouse is an engaging heroine, and I enjoy her point of view. And I want her job. Possibly her whole life.

#3 – Sight Shot

I’ve found it hard to review the books of this series individually; I binge-read all six books over the course of a weekend and enjoyed them to pieces, but that does not make for clear and separate memories of each …

Suffice to say this was another very enjoyable installment in an extremely entertaining series. Description is fun (“He looks like a cross between my childhood teddy bear and Sean Connery”), and the dog Tuppence is a star – I love the use of “hoovering” in reference to her scavenging.

This was fun.

#4 – Tin Foil

As mentioned with the third book in the series, it’s kind of hard for me to look at these books separately, since I read them back to back to back. But this one stood out a bit more – which is bound to happen when a book starts out with a literal bang. The stakes are a bit higher this time around, and it’s a good ride.

It was good to see Meredith’s friend George again – I was so enjoying that first scene – and then >boom<.

My only quibble in this one was that Meredith did a lot of nose wrinkling; it seemed like every few pages came “I wrinkled my nose”. But I can live with it, it’s such an enjoyable series. Highly recommended.

#5 – Faux Reel

Another very entertaining mystery in the Imogene Museum series, in which a hideously ugly painting that has been tucked into a corner of the museum where it will stand less chance of frightening children … disappears. Meredith, the curator, rather reluctantly contacts Sheriff Marge – not that she wants the thing back, but out of simple duty to the museum.

Meanwhile, a film crew descends on the town to make a documentary, and – well, the rest is in the book description. It’s all nicely written, believable, and one of the quickest and most enjoyable reads I’ve come across from Netgalley. I had a few quibbles – such as a couple of typos, and the complaint that a bit of information rather vital to the case was something that the police should have had immediately, but was instead turned up by Meredith’s efforts …. But they are indeed quibbles. It’s a lovely series, everything cozy mysteries should be.

I received this series – with thanks – from Netgalley for a review.

This entry was posted in books, mystery and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

