Whose Body – Dorothy L. Sayers – Nadia May

Another reading, another take on the book. Nothing new and startlingly original, by any means, but it is always different having a book read to you.

And Nadia May did a truly lovely job with it. I love her as Peter. I hesitated for a bit – a woman narrating a book with few female characters? But she’s brilliant. It’s disappointing that at the moment this is the only book narrated by her that is available on Audible; I’ll have to keep a weather eye out for more – I’m a fan. And I would love to hear her take on Harriet.

Peter is positively giddy all through the beginning. Has anyone ever put forward manic depression as a diagnosis for him? Because there are some serious swings in his elevation.

And have I mentioned that the Dowager Duchess is magnificent? I think I have. And will again. Because she is.

This entry was posted in books, Favorites, mystery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Whose Body – Dorothy L. Sayers – Nadia May

  1. Michael says:

    I think Nadia May might narrate more than that one; I recognized her name from a history book I’ve got saved that she narrates, and apparently there’s more, like “Till We Have Faces” by C.S. Lewis. I’m glad she’s a good narrator; I hadn’t heard of her before.

  2. stewartry says:

    I worded that very badly – I’m going to blame being distracted. Or something. Hopefully I meant the only Lord Peter book available on Audible; there are lots of her books out there – including Brother Cadfael, which I’m definitely queuing up in the wishlist.

  3. Jane Steen says:

    I just love that cheesy 60s cover art. Nadia May is a great narrator for Sayers–and I swear I have more than one of her books from Audible. I think there’s a Sayers story compendium narrated by her on the site.

    I’ve always taken Peter’s giddy antics to be a result of his shell shock, a sort of defense mechanism. Isn’t this the book in which he has a PTSD flashback?

  4. stewartry says:

    Peter with black hair examining Frankenstein’s monster… Yes, he has the present-tense episode in the graveyard, and then breaks down at the end.

Leave a Reply

