Cast-Iron Cooking – Rachael Narins

True story: after my grandmother passed away, my father’s siblings apparently decided to clear everything out of the house, floor to ceiling, and simply put a huge amount of stuff to the curb. My mother saw Nanny’s cast-iron skillet on its way out, and snagged it, and saved it – and now I have it. Another true story: Mom always put it in the dishwasher. I know. I larned her better.

She often made fried chicken in that pan, but if she had a recipe it was in her head – so it’s great to have a really solid recipe here. All the recipes are solid. There are those you might expect – corn bread, a whole-hog English breakfast (“Full English”) – and also pizza, spanikopita, Persian rice. Steak and burgers to turkey piccata; Brussels sprouts to baked apples; breakfast to dinner to dessert, it’s in here. I can’t wait to try the flat bread. It isn’t often that such a high percentage of recipes are things I can see myself making, and soon; there always seem to be dishes that I have no interest in, or which feature ingredients that are expensive or hard to find. Not here.

This isn’t just recipes for the skillet, though – there are several for which there are options (either the skillet or a griddle), but a few for which you need a Dutch oven. I’ll be shopping for one of those for my birthday, I think. In the meantime, there’s a whole lot I can do as a third-generation cast-iron user. And I will.

The usual disclaimer: I received this book via Netgalley for review. Thank you!

This entry was posted in books, Cookbook and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

